Yellow polka dot dress – finished!

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - finished

I am thrilled to finally present my finished yellow polka dot dress!  I finished it at the beginning of July, but I didn’t get around to doing the photo shoot until this afternoon.  My apologies for the long wait!  I’m so happy with how this dress came out – very light and summery – and it was an incredibly quick and easy project.  After all the alteration drama with my turquoise and yellow dress, the second time around with this pattern was a piece of cake.  Love it!  : )

Project stats:

Pattern: Butterick 5353, fitted dress with circular neckband.

Fabric: Yellow polka dot fabric is Moda Half Moon Modern; cream lining is Kona cotton.  Both are 100% cotton – perfect for a light summer dress.

Modifications: Same as for the turquoise and yellow dress.

Level of crafty satisfaction: Love it!!  I feel so cheerful and summery wearing this dress.  : )

To see all the posts about this yellow beauty, click here.

Butterick 5353 pattern art

Lots more photos below… probably too many, but I was having fun and got a little carried away.  : )  Click on any of the photos to make them bigger.  Enjoy!

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - angle view Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - right side

I’m not crazy about the poofy stomach look (attributed to four little pleats right below the waistband), but I’ll admit that it’s convenient for hiding a big dinner.  : )

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - back view Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - left side

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - lining front

The dress is fully lined, and the lining instructions are actually included in the pattern – what a rarity!  I finished off the lining by hand, as usual, which I think gives it a nice, professional-looking finish.

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - lining back

Now that we’ve got the standard shots out of the way, here are a few fun ones.  Isn’t it so much fun modeling a new dress?  : )

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - hand on hip Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - peek-a-boo lining

Showing off a little peek-a-boo of the lining.  I feel so risque.  Ooh la la.

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - model pose

I call this my “model pose.”  Must be done with lots of attitude.  It helps if you picture yourself as a 6-foot-tall, extremely thin woman, posing for a magazine cover.  HA.

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - kick

When I was young, I dreamed of becoming a Radio City Rockette.  You can guess how well that worked out.  : )

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - looking down

Apparently all the cool kids look down and to the side while modeling garments.

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - with my face

And here I am, feeling pretty smug in my newest creation!

Yellow polka dot dress - me with Maggie

Maggie says: “Stop taking pictures and give me my dinner already.”

Yellow polka dot dress - Butterick 5353 - hooray

I love this shot — HOORAY for new handmade dresses!!!

I’ve already worn this dress out to a nice dinner, and it was super light and comfortable.  For some reason the air conditioning wasn’t on in the restaurant that night (which is crazy because it was about 90 degrees outside and super humid), and I was sweating like a wild animal in the desert.  Thankfully the dress is 100% cotton, and even though I was hot, the dress did a great job of keeping my body as cool as possible, given the circumstances.  Plus I looked cute.  : )  Success!!

Wait a second… what’s this?

Yellow polka dot dress - with blazer preview

Perhaps a little sneak preview of my blue polka dot blazer?  What’s that you say?  It looks fabulous already?  Oh, why thank you.  : )

Anyway, I can’t say enough positive things about this yellow dress, and I’m going to try and get as much wear out of it as possible before the fall weather sets in.  Do you think I can pull it off in the fall/winter with a cardigan and some gray tights?  Hmm, something to think about…

Hope you enjoyed the photo shoot as much as I did, and hope you all had a fabulous weekend!

2 comments
  1. Your dress looks great. It fits you perfectly. Love the polka dots and I’m sure Maggie will feel better with a plate of food :-)

    • Carolyn said:

      Thank you! Getting the fit right was a lot of work, but totally worth it in the end. I would totally make a third dress with this pattern! And yes, Maggie always feels better after scarfing down her meal, haha. : )

Leave a Comment

