Turquoise and yellow dress – finished!

Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - finished!

I am proud to present my finished turquoise and yellow dress, finally!!  : )  After all the pattern alteration drama and muslin frustration, I think this dress actually came out pretty nicely.  I love the color combination and the slim cut of the dress, and I can’t wait to show up at my lab looking fabulous in this baby.  It was a lot of work, but I’m calling it a success!  : )

Project stats:

Pattern: Butterick 5353, fitted dress with circular neckband

Fabric: Turquoise and yellow are Kona cotton by Robert Kaufman; polka dot lining is Vivie Sprinkle by Alexander Henry.  100% cotton.

Modifications:  Not too bad, despite all the fitting drama.  Added 1 inch in length right above the waistband (a regular adjustment for my long torso), removed about 1/2 inch from the front armhole area, and took in about 1 inch in the back shoulder area (essentially adding shoulder darts in the princess seams; required adding about 1/2 inch of length at the top of the side back pieces).  I cut a size 10 for the bodice and waist, and between a 10 and 12 for the skirt.  The 14 corresponded to my actual measurements but was WAY TOO BIG.

Level of crafty satisfaction:  Love it!!  And pretty proud of myself for turning a mess into a nice dress.  :)

Lots more photos below!

Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - front view arms down Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - side view Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - back view Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - side angle view Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - turning around Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - front view arms back

And a few photos of the last few finishing steps:

Turquoise and yellow dress - lining attached to zipper tape

I attached the lining to the zipper tape by hand, as usual.

Turquoise and yellow dress - lining at bottom of zipper

The bottom of the zipper came out ok, not great, but who cares!  No one will see it (except you).  : )

Turquoise and yellow dress - inside of center back neckline

I always struggle with creating a neat-looking center back neck area.  This one came out ok.  I’m not thrilled with the folded-over ends of the zipper tape sticking out like that, but my patience for fighting with these things is very low.  It’s close enough, and no one will see it!

Turquoise and yellow dress - outside of center back neckline

I’m happy with the smooth finish on the outside, so I’m calling it a success.  I’m high-fiving myself for getting the two sides to come out at exactly the same height!  Yes!!

Turquoise and yellow dress - hem

A simple machine hem to finish everything off.  The lining hem is about an inch higher than the outside hem.  I keep thinking about doing a fancy hem with ribbon or hem tape, but by the time I get to sewing the hem, I just want to be DONE already!

Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - on hanger outside

On the hangar, all done.  : )

Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - on hanger inside

And such a cute lining!

Turquoise and yellow dress - Butterick 5353 - dancing poseSo there you have it… a successful, finished dress!!!  Can you tell I’m happy?  : )

Hope you enjoyed following the progress of this crazy roller-coaster ride of a dress.  I’m very much looking forward to a drama-free yellow polka dot dress now that all the fit issues have been worked out.  Here’s to re-using (altered) patterns and cranking out garments!

Now where should I wear my fabulous new dress?  : )

6 comments
  1. Isn’t a great feeling when you finish an item and just love it!! Congrats! PS that yellow polka dot fabric is spectacular!

    • Carolyn said:

      Definitely, it’s such a sense of accomplishment! Thanks! : )

  2. Wow, that looks great! And I do love the lining, it really suits the dress. Good thing you didn’t give up after that first muslin ;)

    • Carolyn said:

      Thanks Nicole! What a long journey from that first muslin to the finished dress! I’m so happy with the result. : )

  3. Chantal said:

    Wow, what a gorgeous dress! Good for you for persevering! I would have given up after the muslin. I absolutely love the polka dot lining, and the colours are so fun and summery. Great job!

    • Carolyn said:

      Thanks Chantal! I love the hidden polka dots too… can’t wait to discreetly “flash” them to someone while wearing the dress, haha. : )

Leave a Comment

