Mad Men dress – finished!

Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - swish pose

I am thrilled to present my finished Mad Men dress (vintage Vogue 7298) – hands down my favorite sewing project of all time!  : )  It’s the perfect shade of purplish-pink!  It has a bold white stripe!  It’s from the 60s!  It fits perfectly!  Can you tell I’m excited???  : )

Project stats:

Pattern: Vogue 7298 (vintage from the 1960s; now out of print; purchased on Etsy)

Fabric: Purple exterior and pink lining: Kona cotton by Robert Kaufman; black and white lining: Architextures by Carolyn Friedlander

Modifications: Added a total of 2″ in length to the bodice (1″ just below the neckline to lengthen the armholes and lower the bust darts, 1″ just above the waist), took off about 3″ in width from the waistline, deepened the neckline and armholes by 1.5″ all around, shortened the hem to slightly above the knee, modified the stripe closure in the back to make it lay flat, added a full lining.

Level of crafty satisfaction: OMG I love it!!!

I had a great time with the photo shoot thanks to the self-timer on my laptop camera – hope you enjoy the photos as much as I did!

Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - front Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - right side Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - back Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - left side Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - bodice closeup Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - dancing Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - model pose Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - kickline Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - lining front Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - lining back

Note: It is almost impossible to fully zip yourself up from the inside – who knew?

Mad Men dress - vintage Vogue 7298 - back closure detailHere’s how I finished off the white stripe in the back… after multiple variations that all wound up being ripped out.  One side overlaps the over by 3/4″ or so, and they fasten together with a sew-on snap.  There was supposed to be more of an overlap with decorative buttons added, but it was hard to get the curved stripe pieces to lay properly on the flat bodice/skirt.  Weird pattern design here.  Anyway, it all worked out in the end.

I wore the finished dress out to dinner with my boyfriend last night, and I felt like a million bucks!  I think that’s the appropriate feeling when wearing a handmade creation, don’t you?  : )

There isn’t much else to say about this dress except that I LOVE IT!!!  I am high-fiving myself!  Yay sewing!!!

4 comments
  1. Sophia Niarchos said:

    Yes, I think that’s the appropriate feeling! Your enthusiasm is so wonderfully contagious, dear daughter of my “sister.” Thank you for sharing your tailoring journey with us. I hope you will also share it with your mom and grandmama! xo.

  2. Carolyn said:

    Thank you Sophia! I’ll have to send a photo over to Mom. : )

  3. Grace said:

    This is really stunning!! I love the idea of the popper close at the back it gives it such a neat finish!

  4. Carolyn said:

    Thanks Grace! This is definitely my favorite dress so far. : )

Leave a Comment

